Home General Discussion

On gaming versus other CG industries

interpolator
Offline / Send Message
huffer interpolator
I have an opportunity to leave an alright-paying job as a CGI artist (advertising stills) for an equally alright-paying job in the gaming industry as a 3D artist.

What do you guys think, where do you have a bigger chance to develop your skills, or get more exposure?

In advertising there are more parts: an agency that comes up with the pitch, photographers, and post-production work - what you create is a smaller part of the whole, even by itself it's edited.

As a 3D artist I could create something that will appear in-game exactly as I finished it (well almost), and close to perfection as I see it, and it could be more rewarding. A a creator, there's a lot of times in commercial CGI where you outsource parts, mix and match them, cheat in some ways (since you need a rendering in the end) and you don't actually make it yourself.

On the other hand, advertising stills are everywhere and they even get prestigious awards, plus give credit to the artist that worked on them.

Do you think you narrow down your skillset if you step into the gaming industry?

How do you see the future? The gaming industry booming with titles getting millions or sales or ads are a better option in the long run, as a first step into VFX or movies?

Replies

• JordanN
    Offline / Send Message
    JordanN interpolator
    Gaming is more fun. To me, there's no bigger hype than when a new console or game is announced. But you have to put up with crunch time.

CG I imagine is probably more laid back. Don't most movies take many years to make? They never seem to be in hurry to rush things.
  • Meteora
    Offline / Send Message
    Meteora polycounter lvl 8