Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Towards a portfolio

Bek
interpolator
Offline / Send Message
Bek interpolator
Hi. I'm going to use this thread as a compilation of my past works and current projects; the end goal being a worthy portfolio.

Here are some past works you might have seen before:

TOZ-120 Shotgun (Old thread) (Uncompressed)

grcNOlb.jpg

Scimitar (Uncompressed)

3vYmaw5.jpg

Rapier (Uncompressed)

uaB8D82.jpg

VSS Vintorez (Old thread) (Uncompressed)

HRR5jXG.jpg

And my current work in progress, the Swiss Twinbow II crossbow. This also has an old thread; from when I was a tremendous noob and thought bevelling was how to make sub-d stuff rather than edge loops. I decided to revive the old model, clean it up and make the lowpoly. Polycount helped get me where I am now; feedback from you all has been wonderful.

MlXYmoq.jpg

(Uncompressed)

This is the first rough texture pass. I'm using 4096x2048 for this (I think I'm becoming a fan of 2:1 texture ratios) with Diffuse, specular, gloss and TS normals.

Tech specs:

Tri: Was 8662 (Now 8365)
Real Verts: Was 8378 (Now 8365)
Efficiency (Real verts / tris) = 0.967) (Now 0.969—slightly worse but overall less verts, which were unnecessary anyway)
UV's

Reference (Google Twinbow II if you want to see more)

The next big things I need to consider are how I'm going to tackle the wood. I could possibly also do a variation with a carbon fiber stock.

Any comments, criticisms etc are welcome, if there's anything I post that I shouldn't include in a portfolio (The scimitar is the weakest piece I've included IMO) let me know. Thanks everyone.

Replies

• Harford
    Offline / Send Message
    Harford polycounter lvl 7
    Some nice work in here Ben, The new crossbow is looking especially cool too.