Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: Huffer

interpolator
Offline / Send Message
huffer interpolator
 I'm a graphic designer who recently quit his graphic designing job (for unrelated reasons) and is now trying to get in the industry. I'm trying to come up with a solid portofolio in exactly two weeks, after which applying to local developers here.

At my last job I did mainly graphic design work, posters, catalogues, packaging along with a deal of light product design projects.

I have been messing around with 3dsmax, other software and workflows for years but I always did exercises and never finished anything, so I hope posting updates somewhere will help me focus.

Piece number 1:
9d0516bbd8a4e7dd2f08f471d63f07d6gif
616d23ccc9dd27e4141f9adc24038ad3jpg
b2114523f8b48e68f9fe572a8885807cjpg

Is a low poly (1500 tris) diorama of arctic animals and a dashing flamingo, with hand painted textures. I might go over these again after finishing the next piece, which is:

jbsTLsa8WjXrssjpg

A futuristic riot gear cop. I'll follow the usual workflow, high poly in 3dsmax and sculpting cloth in Zbrush, bake normal, texture, rig (if I have the time). I'll also do an enviroment for this character, and that will be piece number 3.

To fruitful updates!

Replies

• huffer
    Offline / Send Message
    huffer interpolator
    At the end of the first day I'm half way with the head and helmet. There are tens of things that I'm not sure I'm doing efficiently, like what can I sculpt, what can I do in 3dsmax, how much detail goes there, etc. So far only the face mask is sculpted in Zbrush from a base mesh in max, but I'll have to sculpt the folds and wrinkles in the rest of the clothes.

I want to have many different materials on this character like transparent plastic for the shield, skin shading, eyes, cloth, metal and plastic.

jbcpL0TQ8lqOjS.jpg
  • huffer
    Offline / Send Message
    huffer interpolator