Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Small cityscape in UDK

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
modebloggen polycounter lvl 9
MOST CURRENT PROGRESS:
c1D0Obq.jpg

Hello polycount!

I'm a student who's currently starting his second year in a 3d-graphics-for-games school. I've been working on modelling a small section of a city, just a few houses and stuff, and thought I would start posting here a bit for feedback etc.

My idea is to have it Borderlands-esque. Pretty rough lines, a look that is a bit worn, but not quite as post-apocalyptic as they have it. Also a bit more futuristic (note though that I only have the first game as a reference, haven't played 2 very much).

At the moment, pretty much all of the mesh work is done. Its a bit rough but will do. For now, at least.
The only thing that is textured is a sign. My goal this week is to have most of the props done with texture, and to have it tested in UDK.

4bdPtmN.jpg
The sign from different angles in Maya

uZR25CX.png
The sign when imported to UDK

Dqnlxyt.png
View of the city

7Z5eVRr.png
Another angle

qZ18ZoE.png
Same angle, with the textured sign visible.

I'm looking for feedback, both mesh-wise and texture-wise so please don't be shy!=)

Replies

• vincentvangeel
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    vincentvangeel polycounter lvl 4
    As for the mesh, I think it's okay. There is no need to use more poly's.
    As for the texture, the style of Borderlands is already starting to show but I'm missing the amount of detail in it.

If you look at the image (of the borderlands trailer) on the bottom of this message, you can see that on the back of the female character there is alot more going on in terms of colors. The dirt stains and scratches give a lot of live into the texture. On your panel you stick to much to the same color, you do have a first impression of scratches which is a good start.

Your blockout of the city is looking great.
    Looking forward to seeing more of it.