Home Quixel Megascans

problems loading FBX file into nDo2? help!

I'm trying to load in an fbx for a pretty simple chainsaw model, and when I import my fbx, it comes in looking like this :(

I'm new to nDo2, what am I doing wrong? My model is pretty straightforward, and was created in 3ds Max.

Thanks for the help!

note: I'm also new to polycount, so please let me know if I need to post this in another thread! thx!

Replies

• Axi5
    Offline / Send Message
    Axi5 interpolator
    I had a similar problem with nDo mine was actually shaped like it was meant to though, the model needs to be tri's for some reason and other than that I'm not sure why Ndo2 goes crazy like that, I've been using Ddo's previewer the past few days and it's much better you can get the demo on Quixel's site.
  • Joopsky
    Offline / Send Message
    Joopsky polycounter lvl 11
    I don't know what software you using, but in maya you can fix it by going into your FBX export setting and switching on Smoothing groups and Tangents and Binormals, and switching of everything including animation if don't have any key frames, should do the trick, at least it does for me

PS. Axis - and it doesn't have to be triangulated
  • RockyRack
    "FBX export setting and switching on Smoothing groups and Tangents and Binormals"

This works with sMax 2014, and tanks ;)... I'm now an artist, lolz
  • oXYnary
    Offline / Send Message
    oXYnary polycounter lvl 18
    I am wasting so much time with this.

Max 2012 fbx 2013.3

FBX is not working correctly.
    1. I use hard edges not smoothing groups (alah like Maya), and the viewer is giving triangle errors at intersections.
    2. Model disappears once the screen tries to refresh after editing a normal level.
    3. Importing parts of the model so I can zoom in closer does not work correctly. It either turns full bright/white, or it looses its uv layout.
    4. I also attempted a obj to fbx conversion with the Autodesk freebie.. No difference!