Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio, university, thoughts.

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Croftyness polycounter lvl 11
I'm still in my second year of university and creating a portfolio with hopes of getting an intern placement for my 3rd year.

http://davidcroftsharland.wordpress.com/

This is what I have so far. Any thoughts. Obviously I've only been doing this for a year and a bit so I don't have masses of work.

Some more stuff will be included on there later in the year. Most of it being engine characters.

I haven't started contacting developers yet, but I hope to start tomorrow.

Much obliged

Replies

• DWalker
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Overall, a nice, clean layout, but the white background does make it seem a bit sterile.

I'd probably reverse the order of the images on your facial modelling page, placing the rendered images first, followed by the wireframes, and finishing with the texture. I'd also replace "Click to view more" with "Click to enlarge"; the first phrase implies (at least to me) that there are more images. I'd also like to see more text - at the very least a polygon count and list of modelling tools used.

I'd like to see more images for both the flats and the bowl - wireframes and textures at least.

Overall, the site seems very monochromatic. I don't know if this was an intentional decision or a result of your being a modeller rather than a texture artist. I would recommend getting at least some experience painting textures, however, even if you want to work primarily on modelling - artists, especially in small companies, need to be versatile. The flats or the tank would probably be the easiest - texturing a face well is no small task!

A final, brief comment - the textures on your pzkpfw III are listed as 2048 x 204. Adding the missing '8' in Photoshop should be simple enough.
  • pixelb
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pixelb greentooth