Home General Discussion

How would you get folio samples from work and still look committed?

greentooth
Offline / Send Message
fearian greentooth
OK so backstory, because I know the number 1 and 2 responses will be "just take them!" and "It shouldn't matter!"

I work as a contractor in office for a small VFX team in a larger company. I come in whenever they need me, and recently I've been working more or less full time. It's been hinted that I would be able to apply for a full time position here, and I'm just about ready to take it.

Now I am still looking (okay, not very actively for the last few months) for a job in games, and I plan on increasing this search in a month or so. But I have nothing in my portfolio for the last better part of a year where I've been working. I don't have access to archived stuff, would much rather get the best work to show from my boss with his full cooperation anyway.

The problem is, if I want to apply for this full time position, how in the hell can I say "Hey, can I get some nice examples of my work from the past year for my portfolio?" The big thing that's wanted from me at the moment is a sense of commitment to the company and the projects. Being on time, working a bit late when it matters; not appearing to look for the first chance to jump ship...

I feel sleazy even posting this. I do like this job, but that's not going to stop me looking for something better. My boss is not an idiot, I don't want to treat him like an idiot.

TL;DR - Need to take full time position at work. Also need portfolio samples from work if I want to leave. The two are not compatible: thoughts?

Replies

• wester
    Offline / Send Message
    wester polycounter lvl 13