Home General Discussion

Indie Game Pre-Production Help

Hello Polycount, i'm going to start my first indie game (to be sold) soon and I'm looking for a bit of insight. I've been dawdling with 3d art and game development for about 2 years with only one menial game under my belt. However, I think it's time for me to start a fun game that I can actually finish, polish, and sell by next year when I go to college. So here's what I'm confused about... If you have any other advice, please share, because I can't ask all my questions here, just a few big ones that I've had for years.

Question 1 - Game Proposal
What are the steps one would take to plan and design a game... How do you put a game proposal on paper and how can that proposal be organized into simple tasks for production? I'm wondering this because, while I may lack creativity in this type of planning, I have a friend who i feel would do a wonderful job at a proposal but I don't think he would know the most efficient way to write one.

Question 2 - Creating a team
How does one create an Indie team online? I'm not the best developer, but if i want to create a game, who should i recruit and how many people? I would feel bad if I got some pro developers and the game turned out to be a bust because of me. On the other hand, I do have some experience and wouldn't want the rest of the team to suck.

Question 3 - Tools and Collaboration
I currently have the most experience in Unity and If I make a game it would be with this engine. How is work assigned and how is the game assembled from the assets created. Do coders write scripts on their own or do they need the unity engine with the game on it? Or do they need the art assets involved with the script, so they can create a unity package and send it to me for assembly? Any general help with this topic would be nice.