Home Unreal Engine

UDK - Tiling platforms, lightning errors

Hey guys!
I have come upon a problem when im reapeting some platforms in udk, which i don't know how to solve.
I have 5 different platforms that i want to switch between but i encounter some shading errors at the end of the platforms when i put them together.
Think the problem is lightmap related but im not that experienced with UDK so i could need some help with pointing out what im doing wrong.

Some images to help explain my problem.
PuYS2.jpg
BOjZB.jpg
osG7T.jpg

Replies

• James Ordner
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    The lightmap is not the problem. You will get the same problem in Maya if you try to tile the mesh. The problem is that the vertices from one mesh are cot connecting with the vertices from another mesh next to it, thus not smoothing the two meshes together. You don't have this problem with flat meshes like walls, because the flat shading from one wall is exactly the same as the wall next to it.

The best way to fix this is to bake a normal map from a high poly mesh that will better match up the shading from one mesh to another. It won't be perfect if you look close, but it should be good enough if you bake it right.
  • HAWK12HT
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    HAWK12HT polycounter lvl 12
    Hi, check this out from the middle (scroll down to middle)

http://www.polycount.com/forum/showthread.php?t=92440