Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

My friend says mods aren't good on a portfolio, looking for opinions!

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
100Chihuahuas polycounter lvl 7
I have been having a debate with a friend over whether mods look good on professional portfolios.
I am a professional environment artist, but am just now starting to get interested in modding my favorite game, Skyrim!.

I think a great-looking art-based mod would be good experience and look nice on a portfolio.

My friend thinks that time would be better spent on personal projects, because that is what employers would rather see.

I am looking for some more opinions from the Polycount community, please! Speak your minds, I will really appreciate it!

Replies

• Macattackk
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Macattackk polycounter lvl 7
    thats really stupid... your friend doesnt know what hes talking about. working on a mod shows you know how to work with a team and have deadlines and work within the confines of a specific style and cohesive piece.
  • Neox
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Neox veteran polycounter
    Sorry to say so, but your friend is stupid.

And this is why.

Both can be worth the same, if its personal work or a mod and it is well made, it is well made.

BUT

for a recruiter it could also be worth more, if you integrate in a team, if you can adapt to their style and quality, if you transfor their concepts into something that fits into their game etc.
  • 100Chihuahuas
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thank you for your opinions!
    Maybe I will throw in one more question into here, if you guys don't mind.

Would working on a a mod with a decent-sized team look way better than working on a mod with a little bitty team?

Thank you in advance
  • Texelion
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Texelion polycounter lvl 8