Home General Discussion

Zelda Windwaker Textures Yay or Nay ?!

polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
warby polycounter lvl 18
i started playing windwaker with that dolphin emulator a while back.
its just one of those games i am nostalgicly in love with. i played it many times on the gamecube in lowres and shitty quality on a lowdef tv and was always amazed at the look of a lot of the textures facial expressions and fx but because of the poor image quality could never quite tell how it was done. that is actually something that happend to me a lot with the last console generation i saw something amazing and had to know how its done and desperately wanted to take a closer look but the tv quality just wouldnt do.

when i installed the dolphine emulator ( i still have my gamecube copy of the game and a wii and a gamecube controller and mmemory card to boot so its all legit !) and fiddled with the gfx settings to make it run run properly i noticed that there are a whole bunch of debug options like wireframe vertex/pixel light freecam and ... "dump textures" 0_0 i couldnt resist and had to try all of this. seeing how well all of it worked i immediately thought i am gonna disecct the fuck out of this game and look at every pixel nook and cranny. i already learend alot of interesting stuff about the game for example:

-the water is actually attached to link and always moves with you (except vertical)
-the cloth strips hanging from the pig/boar enemys weapons are not done with precomputed physics its all dynamic ( why dont modern games have cloth simulation that good ? *mindblown* )
-the stars in the sky are not done with a skybox or texture but are just a bunch of additive quads rotating on top of each other.
-the facial expressions are all done with floating alpha planes for eyes and eyebrows (that also draw in front of the hair shader) but not the mouth that is an opaque texture on the actual model (not floating) for some reason.