Home General Discussion

Need guidance for post-secondary school!

Hey everyone, I'm about to graduate for highschool and I have a very strong desire to become a 3d modeler/texture artist/concept artist/environmental artist. I don't really know how I am going to become an artist, but I want to become one. I am also wondering if this is the sort of thing that can be self taught, as there are so many talented people on this forum who just blow me away with their work. I've taught myself enough of the basics of the modeling workflow for video games to know that this is what I want to do for a living.

I live in Toronto, Ontario, Canada and I am struggling to find a good course to take to lead me towards becoming a professional.

What exactly should I be looking for in order to become a 3d artist?

Here are 3 different courses I've picked out, but I don't know what I should choose! I really need guidance from someone with experience in the industry.

http://www.sheridancollege.ca/Programs%20and%20Courses/Full-Time%20Programs/Programs%20A-Z%20Index/Bachelor%20of%20Applied%20Arts%20-%20Animation.aspx

http://www.humber.ca/program/3d-modelling-and-visual-effects-production#curriculum

http://www.sheridancollege.ca/Programs%20and%20Courses/Full-Time%20Programs/Programs%20A-Z%20Index/Game%20Level%20Design.aspx

Any help would be great, and thanks in advanced!

PS: The reason why I put Bachelor of Applied Animation (Sheridan) is because I have a friend who is taking the course currently and has told me that you have the option of doing 3d modeling later on. I want to learn how to become a better artist first because believe it is essential to becoming a great 3d artist.

Replies

• slipsius
    Don't do sheridan for modelling. They are good for animation, but I feel for modelling and stuff, they wouldn't be as good.