Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[CE3] Island of the Dead (my first environment)

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Macattackk polycounter lvl 7
Hello everyone, so normally im a character artist but I want to try my hand at doing an environment to see if I enjoy them more.

This is my first environment so any tips and crits are welcome.

Here is the concept which is an old 1883 painting by Arnold Böcklin called Island of the Dead:

Arnold_Boecklin_-_Island_of_the_Dead_Third_Version.jpg

Current Progress:

1-7.jpg

2-6.jpg

3-5.jpg

4-4.jpg

5-4.jpg

6-5.jpg

7-4.jpg

8-1.jpg

Replies

• kio
    Offline / Send Message
    kio polycounter lvl 15
    cool project - did you know böcklin did various versions of the painting ?http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Isle_of_the_Dead_(painting) might give you one or two addiotional ideas :)
  • Macattackk
    Offline / Send Message
    yea i was checking those out. apparently this one was his third version which he was contracted to do by a rich widow. the boat depicts her and her husband going to the island of the dead together in their caskets. pretty cool history.

i chose this one because it seems to be the most interesting and most dramatic of them all. though after you said this i relooked at them and i may decide to add more sea rocks via the fifth version. also im wondering if i should add a rock wall like in the fifth version as well? currently im thinking that the rock wall detracts from and clutters the focus which are the trees. the simpler wall blends in more with the ruins and adds more solitude to the picture. here it is if anyone has an opinion:

The_Isle_of_the_Dead_1886.jpg
  • Santhem
    I like the piece alot, and you seem to have quite a good start.
    One thing i like about the original piece alot is that it really kindof pops out of the water, and has this dark deathly hole in the center.