Home General Discussion

Degree and College Advice

polycounter lvl 13
Offline / Send Message
aajohnny polycounter lvl 13
Hey,

I am currently enrolled in a private college and I can go for free since my mom works here. I am majoring in Graphic Design, but I don't really like the program and the people here. I have been looking into some Online College's and The ones that I noticed were Full Sail and AI of Pittsburgh. Do you necessarily need a degree for getting into the game industry? or a BOA? I feel that if I spend my time modelling these next 3 years it will make my time worth while. I need advice because I am kind of getting stressed out :/

Replies

• Justin Meisse
    Offline / Send Message
    Justin Meisse polycounter lvl 18
    A degree helps with Visa - you don't need a degree to get a job, it's based on your portfolio. You'd be crazy-nuts to turn down a free degree. As far as not liking the people, you'll find a lazy, uninspired student body in most for profit colleges - they open the doors for anyone willing to take on $40-$80k of debt (or willing to let their parents take it on)
  • aajohnny
    Offline / Send Message
    A degree helps with Visa - you don't need a degree to get a job, it's based on your portfolio. You'd be crazy-nuts to turn down a free degree. As far as not liking the people, you'll find a lazy, uninspired student body in most for profit colleges - they open the doors for anyone willing to take on $40-$80k of debt (or willing to let their parents take it on)
    That's true, but I just don't like where the art program is going though.
  • ambershee
    Offline / Send Message
    ambershee polycounter lvl 17
    A degree generally isn't what will get you into a job, and even less so if you're not aiming for a particularly technical vocation. A degree can certainly help however, and a high-level education isn't something to be sniffed at since you cna pick up a fair few skills for later life.