Home General Discussion

Best 2d Mobile Game engines?

polycounter lvl 14
Offline / Send Message
ENODMI polycounter lvl 14
Thread title should have read: Best 2d Mobile Game engines for beginners?

Been applying for a lot of jobs lately and getting no feedback. It's really bummed me out, so Ive decided to switch gears for a while and try to make a simple 2d game,yet I have zero experience programming. Does anyone have any recommendations for a 2D engine, with a beginner in mind? Digging around I have found these, but cant seem to draw any conclusions due to my lack of knowledge. They claim ease of use, but can you really make anything worth playing as an artist?

Torque2D by Garage Games

Gamemaker by Yo Yo Games

Andengine - Looks like progamming knowledge is a must for this one.

I suppose the big question here is, do I take some time and learn some programming first, or is there a way I can jump right in and start making something worth playing?

Replies

• Ged
    Offline / Send Message
    Ged interpolator
    unity can do 2D especially with the help of spritemanager 2.0 and ezgui but the game creation environment is still 3D you just use an orthographic camera
  • Justin Meisse
    Offline / Send Message
    Justin Meisse polycounter lvl 18
    I have some experience programming, I originally wanted to be a programmer and went to school a bit for it - I haven't found any engine that's easy for a novice programmer besides the old DOS RSD Gamemaker - which is old and creaky now - I can't even get it to run on a modern computer. EDIT: lulz, I missed the "mobile" part of your question
  • hobodactyl
    Offline / Send Message
    hobodactyl polycounter lvl 18
    I've seen some really nice stuff made with Gamemaker, but I'm sure you'd need to learn some of the scripting for that.

If you're not wanting to mess with any type of coding you're going to be pretty limited, but Gamemaker seems to be a good choice for that (I haven't used it much myself, though).