Home General Discussion

game industry!? :( Tell me the truth.

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
toxic_h2o polycounter lvl 8
I have been reading/hearing a bunch of negative things about the game industry on here and other sites recently. For the past few years I have been looking forward to graduating so I could finally get to do what I have always wanted, to work on a game. All I want, is to be able to make awesome things and provide a means for my family one day.

I'm a student who will be graduating in about a year and half. I am already very nervous about whether or not my portfolio will even be good enough to get an entry level position somewhere (Also I live in Ohio so I have that against me).

But no worries! I will work super hard, sacrifice everything and land that awesome job I have been constantly dreaming about for the past few years right?

Tell me am I ignorant for thinking the video game industry can be a fun place to work? Are these rumors I hear true? All this stuff about crappy working conditions, crazy hours and what not is making me worried. I don't want to slave away, sell my soul and realize its all been a false hope. :( I'm not dumb, I don't expect to get paid to have Nerf gun fights. I guess I just want to be able to say at the end of the day that I enjoy my job.

So tell me, does anyone have any good experiences working in this field? Can someone tell a student who knows nothing about the inner workings of this industry, what they should expect? Are my future kids going to grow up fatherless because I was forced to spend all my time in the studio?

videogameindustry.jpg

Replies

• ceebee
    Offline / Send Message
    ceebee polycounter lvl 14
    Ya, it's kinda like prison.
  • Kwramm
    Offline / Send Message
    Kwramm interpolator
    The studios I worked often looked more than the lower pictures. But that doesn't mean you had to work crazy hours or were treated badly.