Home General Discussion

Switching 3d Software a bad idea?

polycounter lvl 13
Offline / Send Message
aajohnny polycounter lvl 13
Hey,
I looked on the forums to see if there was a similar thread and I didn't find one (if there is I apologize and I must be blind) but I have been watching a few tutorials and I noticed that Maya looks pretty fun to use, and seems a lot of studios use it. My friend is trying to "Convert" me, and he thinks Maya is way better than Max ect...ect...and I am unsure if Maya has tools Max doesn't... I have been using Max for the past 2 years and I was just wondering if i should just continue using Max? is Maya really worth the switch?

Once again sorry if this is a redundant question, and thanks for your time.

Replies

• Mio
    Offline / Send Message
    Mio polycounter lvl 13
    if u don't do any art tech and fx stuff, and only focus on modeling /texture, then forgot all the crap talking about those 3d software, just grab something you like and make more and more art!

then u will have u answer!

:D
  • Kot_Leopold
    Offline / Send Message
    Kot_Leopold polycounter lvl 10
    If you're comfortable using Max, then why switch to Maya? "is Maya really worth the switch?" - only you can answer that question. But just because your friend thinks Maya is better and is trying to "convert" you doesn't mean you should make the switch.

It really boils down to what you're comfortable using and whether or not you'd like to spend that amount of time learning Maya.

Just my 2 rubles.
  • aajohnny
    Offline / Send Message
    Thank you both. I am just confused as to if Max has the same exact tools as Maya does Modelling wise, or if Maya has better tools.
  • Ben Apuna
    If you are comfortable with Max then it would be fine to give Maya a try. Once you learn the fundamental ideas behind making 3D art (modeling, uving, baking, etc...) it's pretty trivial to switch apps.