Home General Discussion

Dual Monitor advice

polycounter lvl 13
Offline / Send Message
aajohnny polycounter lvl 13
I am sorry if I am a computer noob, but I feel I need to ask this question, because I don't wanna spend my money on something I will regret.

I am looking into buying another computer monitor for dual monitors to improve my workflow, and I am looking in the budget of $120-130 max (I am a college student bare with me :p) My questions are:

- Do I need the same model monitor as the one I currently have?
- Do I need the same size monitor?
- Other advice on looking for a good monitor

Thanks for your help guys.

Replies

• Barbarian
    Offline / Send Message
    Barbarian polycounter lvl 12
    Do a search for a thread that I started a few months ago related to dual monitors of different size yea or nea. There were a lot of good responses.
  • Will Faucher
    Offline / Send Message
    Will Faucher polycounter lvl 12
    I work with two different monitors at different resolutions both at home and at work. No issues.
  • Wesley
    Offline / Send Message
    Wesley polycounter lvl 13
    It depends how you use them really... at home both my monitors are the same brand and model, and I really enjoy that. Feels uniform, especially considering colour.

But at work I have two different ones and I get on okay as well. You just end up assigning each monitor certain tasks. So the biggest is for Max while the other will have a bunch of references.
  • X-One
    Offline / Send Message
    X-One polycounter lvl 18
    You should be able to mix and match monitors however you like. I personally run an lcd/crt. At work I use two lcds, same size, same resolution of different brands.

While most videocards these days do support dual-display, be sure that yours does, because it would suck to buy monitors to find out that your vid card can't take them.
  • haiddasalami
    Offline / Send Message
    haiddasalami polycounter lvl 14