Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Astronaut Character

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
PogoP polycounter lvl 10
Hey guys,

For one of my final modules this semester, we have to make a customisable character within UT3. Now, I'm not a character artist so I would really appreciate some feedback on this character!

I decided to make an astronaut character as I can easily add a helmet as an extra mesh (more marks for customisation!), and perhaps add labels onto the suit as extra parts.

Sorry that this is just a big wall of text/images, I meant to make it earlier but I completely forgot. So I guess I'm looking more for feedback on topology and texturing as it comes together.

Firstly, here's some shots of the piece from concept to base mesh, to high poly to low poly.

Here's my initial reference:

Nicholas_J._M._Patrick.jpg

And a quick character mockup (I'm no 2D concepter either! :D):

character_concept_finished2_fixed.jpg

So I made a quick base mesh for Zbrush, keeping it really simple with essential topology to ward away any naughty pinching!

character_blockout3.jpg

And started sculpting in Zbrush:

character_zbrush_5.jpg

character_zbrush_5_boots.jpg

character_head_3.jpg

And here's the current stage of the head and torso retopology:

character_normal_map3.jpg

Would love to get some feedback, let me know if you see anything that could be better and improved in any way.

Thanks for reading!

Replies

• eedobaba7726
    Offline / Send Message
    eedobaba7726 polycounter lvl 9
    The wrinkles on the suit may be a bit overdone, but the form of them looks great. This looks like a great start.
  • PogoP
    Offline / Send Message
    PogoP polycounter lvl 10
    Yeah I agree about the wrinkles on the suit. I had just found out how to do them in Zbrush and went overboard! Only done a few sculpts in Zbrush, and my last one was about a year ago.