Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

First character... in a while.

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
linkov polycounter lvl 10
I've been in my bunker, couple last days, doing this thing, and now I'd like to hear some opinions. This is really first one in like 5 or 6 years, and before that.. well, I've made one or two. So this is almost new to me.

I'm not pretending to be original. World of Warcraft and whole ancient Egypt influenced this, although later I remembered original Stargate film also. Didn't look for references there, but I think Stargate could be an inspiration here as well.

Tri count was limited by 1k from the beginning. Don't ask, its just how it is.

character_flat_render.jpg

character_wires_tex.jpg

Don't be afraid to hurt my feelings, if necessary :poly142:

Thanks.

Replies

• SouthpawSid
    Offline / Send Message
    SouthpawSid polycounter lvl 7
    I'm no expert character artist by any means but I think this looks fantastic. Love his proportions and the texturing feels good! Nice job, do some more! haha
  • 9skulls
    Offline / Send Message
    9skulls polycounter lvl 13
    Way cooler than WoW, great job :) If I'd change something, I'd made the calves just a tad bigger just to make the profile stand out more. Same goes for the forearm muscles, but just a little.
  • Taylor Hood
    Keep looking at it, 9Skulls, that looks nothing like a WoW model. It looks like a Borderlands model.

Anyways, I really do love the textures, dude. =]
  • DOG-GY
    Offline / Send Message
    DOG-GY polycounter lvl 12
    Keep looking at it, 9Skulls, that looks nothing like a WoW model. It looks like a Borderlines model.

Anyways, I really do love the textures, dude. =]
    I think you mean Borderlands, and no it doesn't fit the style of Borderlands.

If anything it's closer to WoW, which is what the OP says he was inspired by.

Great job, very nice texturing.
  • Taylor Hood
    DOG-GY wrote: »