Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Hard Surface Stuff

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
scrawld polycounter lvl 12
Hey everyone, I wanted post some stuff that I've been working on to see if I can get some feedback. I've been having problems with hard surface modelling and so started this for practice.

Here is what I have so far, followed by the reference used:
4538290114_033b519d4f_o.jpg

CM-2694.jpg
(from www.armchairgunshow.com)

Unfortunately, all the reff I've got for this gun are side on, so I've been using reff from similar guns for parts I can't make out. The parts I'm not so sure about are the front section, below the barrel and the section around the hammer.
I'm no gun expert, so if anyone has any advice it is greatly appreciated.

Thanks for taking a look.

EDIT: With them right next to each other I've just noticed some pretty obvious proportion/scale Issues. Lesson learned: Use image planes.

I should also mention I've just jumped ship from maya to max during the past few weeks, so if I ask any stupid questions or i'm going things about the long way, that'd be why!

Replies

• NoltaN
    Offline / Send Message
    NoltaN polycounter lvl 15
    Hey Scrawld,

I think its looking pretty good so far but like you've mentioned there are some proportion issues.

A. Should be wider when compared to ref.
    B. Looks like these should be maybe twice the size.
    C. Ignore this. Fixing A. fixes this.
    D. The curve on the back of the handle is too steep.
    E. This edge looks to sharp to me.
    F. The trigger guard and trigger need to be a little larger. In relation to the handle it really looks off.
    G. The reference looks more rounded off.
    H. This screw is in the wrong place on the handle. Also its shape could be more noticeable.
    I. This should be a little larger and there is more of a curve to the bottom of it. Are you planning to add the ring part at the bottom?