Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Western themed Castle Crashers-ish game (WIP)

Hey all this is my first post, sorry I didn't see a welcoming thread. My name is Ray, and I'm an unemployed ex-Flash artist. I've kinda put off drawing for a couple months since I lost my job so I figured it was time to jump back in full force with a refresher game. My last job was in education and the quality expectations were really low, so I need to hone my stuff quite a bit, but it'll work for now I reckon (I'm from Tennessee :P)

Anyhoo.. to the game.

I'm looking to do a Western type game with a mix of elements from Castle Crashers, Sunset Riders, and Metal Slug. It will of course be a side scroller. I Just want a fun goofy game with over the top bosses, and pretty artful stages. I'm thinking things along the lines an old timey steam train mech for a boss, a giant tobacco spitting spittoon ect. On the NES forum I frequent there has been the thought of the stages being like jobs that Flint (the main character) signs up for, goes mad and has to eliminate all his co-workers, finally finishing off the "Boss" in the end. Going from job to job getting ticked off and killing the panty wastes. Coal miner, saloon worker, railroad worker, sherrif and so on. I'm kinda liking the idea, but I'm still open to changes.

I'm needing any feedback I can get on this one. I'm still open to story line (for the most part), stages, themes, bosses, BG art direction ect. Oh, it would really help if I had some direction on the HUD at the bottom... what it should be made of consist of. Heck even if you think its a good idea or not. I'll update things as I go. Help me out fellas. Thanks!

Current look of things SWF: (I just started last night so its very early on)
http://i200.photobucket.com/albums/aa207/maximusfrisbee/Flint_master.swf

Current still of things:
http://i200.photobucket.com/albums/aa207/maximusfrisbee/Flint_master_still.png
Flint_master_still.png

Replies

• AimBiZ
    Options