Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

UDK - Forgotten Forest

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
biofrost polycounter lvl 12
For my next environment I am going for something a bit more natural! Before I start on the layout of everything I want to be sure my props are up to par, as this is my first attempt at something like this.

I am pretty happy with my pine tree's but this other tree I am working on keeps giving me trouble. I would like it to be fuller but the more leaves I place on it the more obvious they are on flat polygons it becomes.

So rip this apart, nature props are my weak link and I'm looking to change that!
iXM40.jpg

I think it may be the size of my leafs, Ill have to do some experimenting/
g6mZL.jpg

EDIT: New attempt
LQL4h.jpg

Replies

• Zipfinator
    Offline / Send Message
    Zipfinator polycounter lvl 9
    Thinner alphas, more planes for the leafed tree. Try creating an X like shape with the planes too (Ideally with 3 planes coming out from the center). I've found that's a good shape for tree branches to make them not look plane like and give them a good viewing range. They only really look like planes if you're facing the top of it which will both not happen much and won't be all of the branches at once. Also the Pine Tree's branch texture could use some work. It doesn't look like needles are coming off of those branches, just weird triangle shaped green leaves or something. Did you use photo reference for these textures or are they all hand painted?
  • biofrost
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the tips! As for the textures it is a mix of photo ref and hand painted. I have been having some trouble with the pine needles. hand painting them makes it seem to fake and the photo ref makes it seem odd.

Working on the new X shaped planes now.
  • ZacD
    Offline / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master