Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[UDK] River Shack

Hey everyone,

This is my first time sharing any art work on here. Exciting stuff.

Anyway, I'm working on the following piece for my class. I have to model everything myself, so no Speed Tree or default UDK foliage.

This is representative of about 3 or 4 days work so far between classes. Screenshots taken from Marmoset.

LATEST UPDATE
WIP in UDK
rivershack_udk_wip03.jpg

Latest Render in Marmoset
rivershack_wip01.jpg
rivershack_foliage_wip.jpg

rivershack_assets01.jpg

Thanks a lot for any comments and crits!

Replies

• TheGoozah
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Looking fine!! Keep going!
  • Ace-Angel
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ace-Angel polycounter lvl 12
    Which one will show your final scene?

Choose that one and post up an higher rez image, I think the wood's specular might be breaking the feel of the material, but cannot be sure (at least the one in UDK).
  • [Deleted User]
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    [Deleted User] polycounter lvl 9
    did you follow a tut for the water? if so can you post a link ^_^
  • MooseCommander
    I followed a few different tutorials and tweaked everything to make it work together.

I'll be making a video tutorial on how I achieved the water for later on. I'm planning on doing some vertex painting with it as well to achieve some cool effects, so it should be fun to show off when its 100% complete! :)
  • chazzur
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I agree the water is on point. Looking forward to seeing the tutorial.
  • nick2730
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    what setting are you using in maramoset to get that feel?
  • MooseCommander
    I use the Polaroid preset under the Render tab and then do some adjustments, like turning down Chromatic Abrasion and upping the sharpness a tad. I typically just use the Daylight setting for lighting and then make adjustments to the brightness and rotation as necessary.