Home Technical Talk

modern day model polycount

rockbox
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
rockbox polycounter lvl 6
hi all,
im a beginner modeler and i have modeled a few things but i really have a problem.when im modeling my game models,i dont know exactly how low poly my low poly model should be.i mean,for the unreal engine and in modern games, are the models really that low poly anymore? or is the high poly strictly for extra detail so you dont need to texture as much in photoshop? im just having trouble modeling my game models because i dont know what i should make the poly count budget.
can anybody enlighten me on this?
thanks!

Replies

• gsokol
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Depends.

Polycount varies a lot from game to game. Characters in an rts are much more low poly than characters in a fighting game, car models in Gran Turismo are much more than cars in Grand Theft Auto. Environments in first person shooters are much higher than environments in a flight sim.

It all depends on what you want to do.
  • Scruples
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Scruples polycounter lvl 10
    Range goes from 200-50000 triangles, iphone on the low end, mass effect main character on the high end.
  • Froyok
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Froyok greentooth
    Take a look at this, you will an average idea of the common polycount sued by some games :
    http://forum.beyond3d.com/showthread.php?t=43975
  • rockbox
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    well take the elder scrolls:skyrim in particular,has a huge world,detailed, but the models look not low poly at all.or in saboteur,the guns and characters look high poly but its a huge world. the thread gave a little insight,thank you, but im trying to compare what it should be for a big game world i guess. like how many polygons can technology handle these days while still being completely smooth
  • Rabbid_Cheeze
    Options
    Offline / Send Message