Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Texture Practice

Hey guys. So this is my second thread on polycount and my goal at the moment is to improve on my texturing and materials. I am focusing just on Diffuse, normal and specular (maybe some glow later on). I have very little experience texturing so i hope i can get some crits and comments for mprovement.

All are screen grabs from maya. I am trying to limit the time i spend on each one so i get faster as well. I am posting this nooby work here to keep me motivated to update.

My first one was to try and replicate a picture off the Ndo website, as it had a psd that broke down the textures and helped me to get a better understanding of how everything worked. ( i am starting off focusing on metal)
Texture_Test.jpg

Next i used the same colours and workflow to produce these two
TextureTest2.jpg
TextureTest3.jpg

Using a little reference i then tried different colours to make come other objects
TextureTest4.jpg
TextureTest5.jpg

I feel the specular may be a little strong on some of them. Please let me know what you think!

Replies

• Darkleopard
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Little update. Made a dirty old stove for practice. Crits appreciated. I could have refined the texture more but i thought id get opinion first. Im still learning now materials wear and tear.

Just maya screenshots

Stove-2.jpg
    Stove2.jpg
    Stove3.jpg
  • Jessica Dinh
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jessica Dinh polycounter lvl 10
    Texture res looks a little ugly - use large photos and never scale small ones up to fit your texture size! If you have to do any scaling down, then scale the texture first in its own document (not manually) with Bicubic Sharper checked in the image options. Also adding grime in crevices and corners, and wear on protruding edges, can help your textures look more believable.