Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

My character model I'd like feedback on

Admiral Skye
polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Admiral Skye polycounter lvl 5
Hello everyone, I'm a college student studying game art. It's been a few months since I've finished my basic 3d and character design classes and I've been practicing making characters but I never quite liked how they turned out. I think this model I'm posting here is somewhat decent and I'd like some feedback so I can improve on this and future models. The textures are mostly flat colors for now and I'll get working on them soon. However, I always thought textures were my weakest point. All I do is color everything flat and then use a transparent brush with no hardness to paint the different shades. I've been looking for tutorials to help me in this part but I haven't found any that would help me.
2cxat77.jpg

Replies

• s33th
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    So what do you want feedback on? A bit more info would be helpful. If you want crits for your geometry layout then it would be helpful to post wireframes. If you want general crits for your forms/shapes then a few more angles of the model. You mention that your textures are still just flat colors so I'm assuming you don't want feedback about those. So yeah, just a bit more info.

As for some help with the texture painting - the polycount wiki has some very useful stuff. and after a second of digging there you can find super helpful links like this - http://www.gameartisans.org/gamecon/tutorials/tut_2.htm
  • Admiral Skye
    Options
    Offline / Send Message