Home General Discussion

POLL: 1st Industry Job in Last 2 Yrs, do you hold a Degree?

admin
Offline / Send Message
System admin
Simply curious to see the results.

Replies

• JasonLavoie
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JasonLavoie polycounter lvl 18
    I do technically have a degree, but I need to emphasize that I really don't think it helped, what really helped... busting ass.
  • MissMaddyTaylor
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MissMaddyTaylor greentooth
    I'm a big flunker, and proud of it! :D!
  • slipsius
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    slipsius mod
    Jason, it helped you bust ass! Gave you deadlines and specific assignments to do. :P
  • Slipstream
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Slipstream polycounter lvl 19
    I have a Game Art Degree, but from a technical standpoint it didn't really help :/
    I studied on my own like crazy
  • Justin Meisse
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Justin Meisse polycounter lvl 18
    I got my first job 5 years ago so I guess I don't count. I have a degree and it helped me out, it was an animation degree and 50% traditional art. Before school I taught myself how to UV unwrap and texture but I hit a brick wall with modeling - so school really helped me out on that front.
  • Autocon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Autocon polycounter lvl 15
    I have a degree and got my first job just over 2 years ago.

Did it help? yes and no.

My first job was up at Bungie as an environment artist, but i was actually shot down for that position when I first applied, but was given an art test for the 3d artist position since I didnt have the experience of working on a shipped title they wanted for the environment job.