Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Female Character wtih hoody

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
PaulP polycounter lvl 9
I thought it was about time I posted some work! This is a character I started as part of a CGWorkshop with Steven Stahlberg (which I highly recommend to anyone on a beginner to intermediate level).

I concepted my character and did most of the modelling during the workshop, and have spent the last 3weeks working on textures and fixing stuff.

This is my first attempt at photoreal textures and detailed spec maps, so any advice in these areas would be much appreciated!

Anyway, here's the model as it is so far (still very much a WIP). Its using diffuse, normal, spec (level and colour), glow, and opacity maps. I've also set up a basic 3-point lighting to help work with the specular highlights.

Thanks for looking! :)

render01.jpg

render02.jpg

render03.jpg

render04.jpg

Replies

• SpiderFingers
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ok Good start.
    you done anything with zbrush or mudbox?
    Here is what stuck out to me, please understand this as critique if you need more detail on anything I say please ask:
    1) chin looks kind of dirty - I suggest a little texture lightening and smoothing
    2) hair has opposite problem it's too uniform. some highlights and specularity would go a long way
    3) Eye shape seems to work fine
    4) lower lip shape is off not sure whether this is just the stage of modeling your at or not. suggest good side view of a real human face will help you see the issue with the lips.
    5) jean texture is good but the wrinkles are not there again lots of reference will help you see where they need to be and how they flow. that is partly a modeling and normal_map/displacement_map issue so it may be you just haven't gotten to that yet. I don't know.