Home Technical Talk

Need a second opinion for a computer build

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
Joltya polycounter lvl 10
Hey guys. I'm pretty new to 3D software and to this site, so if this is the wrong place to ask this, I apologize.

So I've been a Mac user all my life, need to get PC for school. Friend put these parts together for me based on what I said I need. Just wanting to get some other views and see if I can trim down my budget.

My main use will be for 3DS Max and occasional gaming.

http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h33/JoltZero/Screenshot2012-02-06at12649AM.png

I am I bit concerned with the Blu-ray burner. I hardly ever watch movies, and when I do, I'm not that picky about quality. Do I really need it?

The keyboard, mouse, and speakers are subpar, but I will upgrade those in time.

Replies

• Stromberg90
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Stromberg90 polycounter lvl 11
    I don't know a lot about computers, but I would buy a nvidia graphics card seems to work better with 3D software in my experience, as for the bluray burner it does not seam like you will need that, maybe save or invest that money in a better cpu a i-7.

Reminds me I need to buy a new computer myself soon:thumbup:
  • Natocwal
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Honestly you dont need that great of a computer. I am running on 2gb DDR3 Ram, nividia Geforce 8800GT and 2.5ghz Core 2 Duo. I use maya and play games on it aswell. It runs Skyrim on High, (Ultra but has major lag moments). It works alright for me and a few years back, cost me $600, so imagine it now lol.

For you i would recommend more RAM than me so you dont get slow in 3DS Max. And the Blu-ray is a waste of money unless you intend to use, plus if you have a PS3, whats the point.
  • Cremuss
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Cremuss polycounter lvl 12
    Hi,

Here is my humble opinion.

- 700 W alim is probably overkill ? A decent 500W is enough for an i5 2500k + 560 gtx.