Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

cartoon village

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
fab-camp polycounter lvl 6
Hey there,

I like to show that project I worked on the last couple of weeks. Textures were baked in max, screenshots are out of UDK.
any critics and comments are realy apreciated, as I want to use that one for my first portfolio !

screens020005layer4.jpg

screens010003layer2.jpg

screens020001layer8.jpg

thanks in advance
screens020005layer4.jpg

Replies

• fab-camp
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    edit:
    I´m sorry you´re redirected to imageshack by clicking the images.
    If have got do better the next time... just noticed
  • xXm0RpH3usXx
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    xXm0RpH3usXx polycounter lvl 13
    i'm not good at saying whats good, so i will tell you what bugging me, is that cool? :)

-inconsisteny of detail, your rock is kinda detailed, whereas the grass is really just a flat color
    -textures look like they have too much sharpen or a jpg comression or something on it
    -in the second screenshot there is a bush floating around
    -looks rather uninteresting to me, because of the lack of details

materials are not just about the diffuse color, but much more complex, read this:
    http://www.manufato.com/?p=902
    your materials read as plastic and i dont think that was what u where going for.
  • fab-camp
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hi,
    I switched from terrainmode with decolayers to landscape- and foliagemode.
    So now can have far more trees and a bigger surrounding.
    Also added some environment-backdrops and refined transition between grass and cobbles.
  • PogoP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PogoP polycounter lvl 10