Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Josh Kao Mech

polygon
Offline / Send Message
schneller polygon
This is my first time posting here!

I've decided to get some high poly practice so I've selected (with permission from the artist) this image from Josh Kao:Prop%20(4).jpg

Here is a quick block out. After taking these screen grabs I've spotted a few proportional problems, but I'll correct those as I go.

Josh_Kao_Mech_Front.PNG
Josh_Kao_Mech_Back.PNG

Replies

• Ged
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ged interpolator
    cool, have you posed him like the concept to check hes the right shapes?
  • schneller
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    schneller polygon
    No, but I probably should have :P
  • Anchang-Style
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Anchang-Style polycounter lvl 7
    Reminds a bit of the Spider Tank from GITS, but actually cool project, keep an eye on it
  • Xoliul
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Xoliul polycounter lvl 14
    You really need to revise your blockout. You've missed most of the subtleties that make the design interesting. It's all very straight, square and boring.
    To be honest you could even improve on the design a bit as it can be taken a bit further in terms of shapes...
  • schneller
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    schneller polygon
    @Anchang-Style: Thanks for the heads up, I'll check that out

@Xoliul: I appreciate your honesty - that's what I'm here for! You know, after not touching it for a day or so and coming back to this thread, the proportion problems are all the more obvious. I'm finishing up a high-poly modeling tut from 3d motive right now, but I will take another stab at the blockout soon. Thanks for your input!
  • konstruct
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    konstruct polycounter lvl 18