Home Technical Talk

Modular Character Models, Any Advice?

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
dirigible polycounter lvl 8
Hi, all. I'm going to be working on a project where the plan is for me to make ~60 different modern-day civilian models, at first person specs(ie ~10K tris, diffuse/normal/spec maps), in udk, over the course of several months. It's unfeasible for me to make each one individual, so I'm going to need to use modular assets / textures.

Problem is, I've never done this before. I've made lots of character models in the past, but never modular. Right now my general plan is to make a male basemesh and a female basemesh, each robust enough to support a wide range of body types and facial shapes. Then I would make a variety of types of clothing, which could also support the body types. Then I guess I would make blend shapes for the bodies and the clothing to create 3-4 different body types. So the end result would be a bunch of different clothing which could be put on any body type.

Does anyone have any advice for workflow, or any tips to help me avoid making horrible mistakes? Any advice on how to organize my uvs for texturing, etc?

Replies

• Vorge
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Vorge polycounter lvl 18
    This is actually a rather involved question. You certainly have the right idea about how to go about it. Using multiple UV channels you can get a ton of mileage from repeating patterns for clothing with the normal map affecting one and the tile (plaid for example) on the other which will save you in the end on texture size. Also using multiple UV channels for logos, shirt designs, and things like breast pockets etc can help add to variation. Not to mention using a tint system to add even more variation to them.