Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

zBrush Cloth Wrap Tutorial

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
jordan.kocon polycounter lvl 6
Hey everyone, someone from the community requested I make them a tutorial, so here it is. It's my first time making one, so any C&C on it would be great.

This is a simple walk through on how I make tape and fabric wraps in zBrush, hopefully this can help someone :)

http://jordankocon.carbonmade.com/projects/4113716 <
full res

wraps.jpg

Replies

• OniLolz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    OniLolz polycounter lvl 13
    Wow, that's what I was waiting :) Thank you very much!
  • CandyStripes05
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    CandyStripes05 polycounter lvl 9
    very helpful, got any more? :P
  • jordan.kocon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    OniLolz: No problem :) Glad it helps!

CandyStripes05: Thanks. Unfortunately I don't, as I said this was my first one. Though having recently finished school and getting a job (mainly thanks to polycount) my new years resolution was to give back to the community as much as possible, so I'll take requests :D
  • Digital_3d
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Digital_3d polycounter lvl 9
    Yeah It's really helpful.
    Thanks mate.
  • OpethRockr55
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I'm sorry, but this tutorial makes no sense.

Everything seems okay until you get to step 5, which is where things start to go awry. Out of context of step 6, it'd seem like a reasonable way to go, but once you say you have to Extract that mask, that's where I get confused.

Extraction in ZBrush pulls or pushes a shell of the masked polygons and makes a new Subtool out of them, and does NOTHING with the unmasked ones. Therefore, that strip you don't have masked doesn't exist after you extract. It's a hole in the extracted mesh.