Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Digital Media Student Showreel!!

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
jaydon polycounter lvl 6
Hey all! Just thought i would post the showreel i have been working on in class.
I did a diploma of Digital Media, which introduced me to 3D. Throughout my time in the course we have only spent a few real months on it and i keep learning more.

Take note i have picked up so much as i went along and things like the tris on my Camaro i now know to avoid. The teaching here wasn't as brilliant as it could be, more like a 'choose your own ending' book and i really need to continue to improve.
If it is horrible, please shoot me down in a nice way!

thanks heaps guys.:poly122:
[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6vtly2NHMUQ"]Showreel 2011 Jaydon Hill - YouTube[/ame]

Replies

• Dimfist
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Dimfist polycounter lvl 8
    Definitely have some strong points, like your motion graphics. I would argue against having a loud soundtrack with your reel. I've heard some art directors will automatically flag a reel if they don't like the music, or if it is too distracting. If you must must really really must have some music make it a low key ambient sound.
  • sltrOlsson
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sltrOlsson polycounter lvl 14
    Overall, skip the black background. I makes your work disappear.
  • jaydon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    jaydon polycounter lvl 6
    Thanks guys

Our teachers wanted music in there, and suggested to keep it in because of the visualizer at the start. i definitely will make it quieter though.

and the black as in behind the model rotations?
  • Mgoblue412
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Mgoblue412 polycounter lvl 5
    Your turnarounds go really fast slow them down and do not put a black model on the black background. I also agree with people about the music just make the music more subtle. I do really like the motion graphic stuff as well