Home General Discussion

Making a short film, need some advice

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Ravenok polycounter lvl 7
Hey there polycounters,

Well, yes, I'm making a short and it's not game art, but it's an interesting project because it IS game-related.

I'm studying animation, and our "big project" this year is making a short film, in 3D, but the subject of the film has to be game-related. It can be anything starting from the latest hot video game, through street games and board games and even the word game, and it's meaning, as a general premise.

Either way - I have a script, a basic one anyway, and I'm going into production now, which will last until June. I gotta storyboard it, design it, model, texture, rig, animate, effects, rendering, the whole package...

So, now that I'm done with the boring introduction, I'll present my problem.

I suck at gathering reference.
Also, I'm hardly at a level where I can just invent everything in my short. I'm not sure I'll ever be good enough to just invent it all. This is where I need some help and this forum is the one I love most, so this is where I'm hoping to get what I need.

The movie is taking place in a forest environment. It's a drama-thriller. The hero is a hunter, and in a very rough generalization, it's a story about how this hunter befriends a wolf in the forest.
I want it to take place in an autumn setting, lots of trees, lots of bright, yellow light. It has to feel sort of cold, but still a bit warm from summer. It also takes place around the middle ages - when hunters didn't have guns or rifles, only bows. I'd say 11th-14th century I guess?

I'm looking for anything that might help me. Short films or full feature films that take place in similar settings (either a forest, or a nature environment in autumn). Any cinematography references for possible shots, ideas for designs for the character, the wolf, environments...