Home General Discussion

Prospects of Texture Artists?

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Blaisoid polycounter lvl 7
Hello there.
I did search for a similiar topic, found none.

I am mainly a texture artist, i make both environment stuff and model textures.
i do have some experience in concept art and basic game prop modeling, but compared to those my texture experience and workflow are much better.

However during the time when i was working on my skills, technological improvements caused workflows of studios to gradually change.
It's become really rare for studios to put job ads looking specifically for texture artists.

On the other hand there's more and more ads looking for Environment Artists.
Since environment artists have texturing skills, i guess they make texture artists rendundant in most cases.
So i figured that this specialization is what i should aim for in order to become a more desired artist.

But the thing is, i find it hard to determine what skillset an environment artist actually needs to have.
Job ads that i browsed through require really diverse skills. It's like definition of environment artist and range of his duties greatly varies depending on the studio.

So what should i aim to learn first? modular sets, hi-poly props, or maybe sculpting natural environments? or something else?
Or maybe it makes more sense to start making hand painted textures or textures for mobile gaming?

I've seen that there are lots of professional environment artists here on polycount.
Can you guys give me some insight on how duties are divided at your (present or former) workplaces?

-Are environment textures being made by the same people who make environment props or is it a separate position?
-do specialized modelers (character artists, weapon modelers etc) texture their models, or is this task given to someone else? If latter, then whose job it is?
-where lies the border between environment artist and level designer?