Home Technical Talk

Organic environment... where to begin?

polycounter lvl 14
Offline / Send Message
ablaine polycounter lvl 14
Where do I start? I'm trying to create the following level for a mod project I'm working on, and as I'm new to environment art I was hoping someone might be able to provide some tips and suggestions for a good workflow for re-creating this level in a modern engine.

http://adamhogseth.com/AR0205.jpg

How should I re-create those walls and floors? I really want to capture the layered look with the deeper reddish colors underneath stretched tendons covered in sloughing skin... I just don't even know where to begin.

The props and other things are minor concerns.. I know I can handle those after I've got the walls and floors nailed down. I just really want to do this level justice. Thanks in advance! :)

Replies

• Joshua Stubbles
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joshua Stubbles polycounter lvl 19
    You could do the tunnels with splines, which you can extrude shapes onto or if you have max, make it a renderable spline with geo. The main pods can be started from a sphere or box or plane - whatever, really. Then you just stitch em together.

If you want to do it modularly it's pretty much the same way, but you'll have to make sure the pieces line up, are formed to the grid, etc.
  • Justin Meisse
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Justin Meisse polycounter lvl 18
    When doing caves - soft selection will be your friend. Selecting jagged or stretched polygons and running a relax on them is helpful as well. Caves are pretty flowing and organic, don't worry about perfection.

as far as the texturing, if you are able to us vertex blending and multiple uv sets you can do this:

Unwrap the walls on UV channel 1 and have the seams running down the center of the floor and ceiling

Unwrap the floor and ceiling on UV channel 2, put their seams along the center of the walls