Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

FOREST ENVIRONMENT

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
hewitt96 polycounter lvl 10
Hello, this is my first time posting on forums looking for critiques. This is my latest project and would like some fresh eyes. What do you think? Lighting? Textures? Composition? What do you think I need to improve/change?

This Scene is rendered in UDK Aug. build and is made up of all my own assets.
ForestCave_01.jpg
ForestCave_02.jpg
ForestCave_03.jpg

Replies

• PatrickL
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PatrickL polycounter lvl 9
    First are foremost, MORE ROCKS! I feel like your gully would be absolutely riddled with them because of it's location. I also only see large rock meshes being used. Add medium rocks. Small rocks. Really small rocks. Add even more rocks into the landscape material. Generally speaking, where there is one rock, there are a hundred more. The more you can use to help hide the smooth landscape rock, the better. It should only fill the tiniest gaps.

And speaking of rocks, yours seem to suffer from the same problems mine do: They're sort of blobby and lack sharp edges. If you're using Zbrush, play with the pinch tool, dynamic trim, and a very strong flatten. Those are always good for eliminating that blobby look.

Your trees seem weak compared to the rest of the scene. The far off ones seem fine, if a bit repetitive. But the up close ones just look like billboards. Remember that no two trees are the same, so if you're going to be reusing the same mesh/billboard, add variety by any means necessary. Scale them up and down. Rotate them at odd angles. Obviously that's less important for the far off ones, but it'll go a long way to making those on the left in the first screenshot look and feel authentic.