Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Art Wall

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
Stinkhorse polycounter lvl 12
A friend and myself are putting together an art wall at a local gaming tavern. I'm handling the concept and the characters, she's building the backdrop and painting it. I'll try and get some in progress photos of the wall up later, but for now here are the in progress characters that will be going up on it.

knight.gif

bishop.gif

Rook.gif

The second and third critters there still need a bit of work on their line weights before I declare them ready for shading. I'm still trying to decide if I want to shade them in pencil or in half-tone I've never worked with half-tone before, but I'm not entirely sold on the results of the pencil work. Here's a test piece. Ignore the clock hands, they're just there because I'm fanzigures.

Knight-Complete.gif

Replies

• roosterMAP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    roosterMAP polycounter lvl 12
    nice clean line drawings.
  • ErichWK
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ErichWK polycounter lvl 12
    Pretty cool stuff, reminds me a bit of Bayonetta. I do feel like the they kinda don't have a focal point and kind of hard to focus or read it..but I dunno if that matters for the situation
  • Two Listen
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Two Listen polycount sponsor
    Looks clean and confident, but I'll be honest I can't tell what I'm looking at in just about any of them. I mean, I can, but it doesn't really make sense in my head. I just now figured out the top one is a sort of centaur thing. The other ones I can interpret the different parts, but I can't imagine them moving or being an actual creature in my head. I don't know if the second one is supposed to walk, float, or fall over.

If they're just supposed to look cool and not be seen as actual creatures, I can see them looking neat just as a picture rather than as a concept.