Home General Discussion

Intuos3 or 4? Advice needed

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
Kot_Leopold polycounter lvl 10
I am finally selling my Cintiq 12WX to get a "regular" pen tablet and need an advice on which one to get.

I've previously owned an Intuos3 4x6 and I loved it. Now I am thinking of getting Intuos4 but I keep hearing about how fast nibs wear out/scratch the surface. That wasn't an issue with Intuos3/Cintiq and it's concerning me.

Any and all suggestions would be appreciated. Danke!

Replies

• ZacD
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master
    The usb ports on my intuos4 broke off as well. I tried to get them to repair, their customer service isn't too great.
  • Dan!
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Dan! polycounter lvl 6
    I've been using a intuos3 4x6 for like 10 years- only had to replace the cord when my dog chewed it. It is just now showing wear n tear on the surface where it is used the most. for what its worth I have not heard anything bad about the intuos 4s really.
  • EarthQuake
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    i would pick up a used intuos 3, not much reason to have anything newer.
  • Bal
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bal polycounter lvl 17
    I'd get whatever you can find cheapest, really don't see the point in any of the extra stuff on the Intuos 4. Then again I still have an Intuos 1 at home and I find that's just fine as well (but I've used all 4 generations at work). :)
  • Del
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Del polycounter lvl 9
    ~ I use an Intuos 3 at home, and an Intuos 4 at work.

The difference between them is minimal enough for me to advise you to get the Intuos 3, especially because the nibs seem to last forever in comparison to the 4.
  • DeeKei
    Options
    Offline / Send Message