Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Orca Helicopter

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
Yury polycounter lvl 8
Hi, everyone! Let me introduce myself. My name is Yury and I'm an international student at Centennial College in Toronto, Canada. I'm studying Game Art and Design and after graduation in 4 months I hope to work in the game industry here in Canada. I would like to show you my latest project that I did as my assignment for one of my classes and which will be the main piece for my 3d modeling Demo Reel. I called it Orca Helicopter because of the color scheme and the shape of the helicopter itself. The main source of inspiration for the project was Mike Brown's Airwolf concept that you can find on his DeviantArt page here: http://bagera3005.deviantart.com/art/AIRWOLF-REIMAGIND-130543923 The model has 9,781 polys (20,220 tris), diffuse map, normal map and spec map. I'm still working on pedestal for it, but the helicopter is 100% done.

Here's some screenshots and a turntable. Suggestions and advices on how to improve it are wery welcome! Thank you! :)

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cj0Y5IhiTfs"]Orca Helicopter - YouTube[/ame]

screen1xb.jpg

screen2gp.jpg

screen3bf.jpg

screen4lu.jpg

screen5nn.jpg

screen6y.jpg

screen7n.jpg

screen8ba.jpg

Replies

• SouthpawSid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    SouthpawSid polycounter lvl 7
    that's pretty cool. I just had too :)

rockin.jpg
  • Tanner
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    You should put motion blur on that well done blades, so much detail!
  • Koochy
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Koochy polycounter lvl 10
    ^ camera shutter speed at 1/1000000 to capture those rotors
  • kid908
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Or the engine stalled :)
  • Monolith
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Monolith polycounter lvl 18
    Mhh... mhh...

The visible rotor mechanic, while very nice to see, is kinda an eyesore to me for such an overall sleek design.