Home Technical Talk

Help me convince my brother

I [we] are at the final stages of hardware assembly and my older brother is helping me [or doing it all since I'm a total noob at building a new computer] put all my parts together in my new tower. I whip out my Win 7 x64 dvd and he launches into a heated argument why XP is still good and x64 XP is plenty good for me and he wants nothing to do with [and in fact will not even touch the win 7 dvd] win 7 and will not help me install it and also [blackmails I think] me to not use win 7 EVER. If I do not agree to his demands he will walk away from the project and I don't know who I'll turn to for technical help. Probably be you guys again.

I want a LIST for reasons why Win 7 x64 is needed and not Win xp for my computer install. Please convince him [he can be convinced but he is the most stubborn person I have ever met in my life.]

Please help me guys.

i-7 processor
8 gigs ram
500 + 250 gig harddrives
750 watt powersupply

I was told by a lot of people including this forum that Win7 and esp the x64 version is for me since I have 8 gigs of memory. I was told that Win 7 x64 processes memory more efficiently, etc but I need more than that as a reason to convince my brother to help me with the install of Win 7 x64.

Please guys.

Replies

• equil
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    windows xp doesn't support dx11
    86x can't handle more than 3gb ram
    if you don't get win7 your brother won't get any more blowjobs
    cut his tongue off
  • Nilium
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Nilium polycounter lvl 18
    Two reasons I can think of that are really easy:

1) XP x64 driver support is very, very poor.
    2) XP has been cut off from future technology, so IE9, DX11, etc. are all out of reach to XP users. It is old, it is crusty, it needs to be retired.
  • snemmy
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    snemmy polycounter lvl 18
    As a Mac user and Apple fan, Win7 is an excellent OS.