Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Portfolio] Jon Woodman, Environmental Asset Artist

Envart
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Envart polycounter lvl 6
Hello Polycount!

I'm finally ready to post my draft portfolio. There's trepidation in my heart as I unveil my portfolio to the online world. Any crits or comments are humbly appreciated.

http://www.env-art.com/

:D

Context: I'm a university graduate looking to apply to industry for the position of environment or prop artist.

Replies

• DDuckworth
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    DDuckworth polycounter lvl 6
    Well the trepidation is showing since your website isn't even loading for me :P

Seems like it's not online yet
  • DDuckworth
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    DDuckworth polycounter lvl 6
    Ok sorry for the double post, seems your link is picky, needs a slash after the .com to load for me in firefox 4.

For the space station scene turn down the bloom, it's way too strong. On that piece that is holding the ship up - the detail could be done in the normal map, it doesn't need to be modeled in like that. Usually normal maps are helpful when it doesn't affect the silouhette of your object and there are not very deep grooves.

The office scene is still very red in feeling, you don't have to change it but personally I would mess with the post process chain to reduce the saturation some, or just lower the red channel.

Finally you have a ton of different tabs on your site, your contact info should be shown at all times and therefore doesn't necessarily need to have it's own tab, that can also be on your C.V. so that if they need to find it, they'll know where to go - although if it's shown at all times they won't have to go anywhere.

Try and cut out more, you don't need a "Home" button, especially since it's the same page as your portfolio. Less is more when it comes to showing off art, art is the only goal.