Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Portfolio] - Kristof Minnaert, Character Artist

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
Maph polycounter lvl 8
Hey guys,

I've been working for the past 5 years (3 of which as a lead) for a small independent dev working on not so interesting stuff, and I'm finally taking the final plunge to start looking for other work, preferably in the Character field!
I'm quite proficient in all things technical, and I know I'm not a bad artist; but I feel my portfolio is quite substandard, and I could totally have some pointers on how to improve it, what characters I should ditch from site and what to add, presentation and site layout pointers, etc...

Thanks in advance!

http://www.maphart.com/

Replies

• Jeff Parrott
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jeff Parrott polycounter lvl 19
    I really like your work Kristof. Your long rectangular thumbnails on the main page I think show the badassery of your pieces. You might want to either pick different thumbnail angles of adjust the size so the thumbs look amazing.

Also having multiple thumbs for each piece seems a bit much. Like char A thumb then it links to a bunch of images of char A.

I think that's just web design stuff and not a character critique. I think your newest work is pretty great. Just keep at it.
  • Obliteracure
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Nice work Kristof, that scarecrow is awesome! Those beauty shots really help sell your work. I don't necessarily think you should ditch any characters especially if there from real games. I think it shows good variety of character style.
  • makecg
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Love your work man nothing to crit on your work
    but your website i would like to see the portfolio without the sidebar. so you can have the full width of thumbnails
  • ceebee
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ceebee polycounter lvl 14
    Yeah Maph I think I've already told ya but your work is pretty dope :)