Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Desmond Man - Environment/Hardsurface Modeller

Hey guys!

I'm new to polycount and I was told by a friend to join and post some work :)

So i'm a 3D Environment/Hard-Surface modeller who's just finished the final year of the Games Art Degree at the University of Hertfordshire.

I've come across a lot of problems during my final year which has lead me to end up with a showreel which I wouldn't consider to show the level of understanding/skills that I have because my head just wasn't in it at the time when I was given this brief.

however excuses aside, this is all i have to show so please critique it any way so i may learn where i went wrong or how i should have done something :)

my showreel is auto-playing on my website front page

www.desmondman.co.uk

and my current W.I.P is this SWAT Van Vehicle and an Environment around it which is still in the early stages of it's development :)

topology_wip.jpg
topology_wip2.jpg

I am very excited to be apart of this community and I hope with everyone's input it will better me as a 3D Artist and hopefully bring me to a junior environment artist in a games company soon :)

All crits welcome :)

Replies

• adam
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    adam polycounter lvl 19
    Can I see how you did your tires?
  • jordan.kocon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    jordan.kocon polycounter lvl 6
    I like the second piece in the reel, but is every shingle on the roof modeled in?? Also nice song choice ;)
  • AngryMindtricks
    hey there, to Adam here's how I built my tires (topology wise)
    tire_topology2.jpg
    tire_topology.jpg

I modelled one plane in full detail with the tire's pattern etc... then I made sure i set them up to tile seamlessly and I duplicated them 5 times, attached them and then used a Bend modifier and bent it by 360 degrees to link :)