Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Ingram M10

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
Tepcio polycounter lvl 8
Hi,

It's my first attempt at weapons. My friend has told me that guys at Crytek use decals for labels to make them sharper. Maybe you know any other useful techniques? Please tell me what do you guys think.

As always feedback and advices much appreciated!

Shots:
99462262.th.jpg97025444.th.jpg48696351.th.jpg

Wire:
64594212.th.jpg63679229.th.jpg

Maps:
mapsm.th.jpg

Diffuse: 2048
Normal:1024
Spec: 1024

Lables Diff: 1024x512
Lables Normal: 1024x512

Soft:
Maya, Xnormal, Photoshop, Marmoset

Tri (with mag): 4547

Diffuse turned out to be pretty big and a bit blurred, I will pay more attention to the pixel ratio next time.

Replies

• Kitteh
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kitteh polycounter lvl 18
    The texture is very dull. It looks like you just put a basic metal overlay on it and called it done. Take a real close look at your references and try to replicate the kind of wear and finish you see, in both the diffuse and the spec.

Check out the greasy spots on this one:
    MAC_10s.jpg

This is a bit extreme but has some cool stuff:
    Mac%2010.jpg

I know it's not good to use other people's work as reference, but this guy's Mac 10 skin has some cool materials:
    mac10.jpg

Every scratch and nick should have a purpose and a reason for being there. Don't just loosely put scratchy textures all over everything.
  • Tepcio
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Tepcio polycounter lvl 8
    Thanks Kitteh!

I've updated diffuse and specular, maybe it's even too dirty but believe it's better now.

toolbag2011053111353060.th.png toolbag2011053111494240.th.png
  • Kitteh
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kitteh polycounter lvl 18