Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Critics on university portfolio

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
mikhga polycounter lvl 8
Hi!

I'm applying to a few Universities this spring in order to get a degree in game development, and some of the schools require portfolios in order to get in, as a way to show your creativity, and you're not really expected to have any previous 3D/2D experience, although that's a plus.

And I've put together a portfolio which I'm going to mail them on a CD, hence the .pdf, and I'd like to get your opinions on it. Of course since I'm a beginner and completely self-learned it's not of any high quality, but I hope it should get me into one of the schools at least.

I've got more work samples to put in it, but this is the version I'm gonna send to one of the schools, which specified you only send in 5 work samples. The models are pretty shitty compared to what you otherwise see on this forum, but I'd like to get your opinions on the layout the most and whether or not you think it'll pass or not.

Link: http://www.blackmamba.se/portfolio.pdf

Thanks!

Replies

• Cexar
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Cexar polycounter lvl 6
    Those are some big maps for the props :) I would try make them smaller if you wanna impress them but then again, they might see the opportunity to teach you something about resolution. ^^
  • Cojax
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Cojax polycounter lvl 10
    Ok.

In terms of creativity, you aren't showing any. At all.

Take an everyday (roughly human size please) object and put a new spin on it. What you have shown here only shows a minimal understanding of 3D modeling and textureing on the technical side.

Now that you are beginning to understand the basics, go ahead and challenge your self.

Best of luck!
  • Oniram
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Oniram polycounter lvl 16