Home General Discussion

Possible that there are too many environment artists?

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
jeremiah_bigley polycounter lvl 12
Something I have been wondering about... I have always been told that "Everyone wants to be a character artist." and that it would be too difficult to get into that part of the industry without some serious skill because there is soooo much competition and so few jobs.

Well... what about environments? Yeah I understand that with technology increasing we are really needing more and more environment artists because the levels keep getting bigger and bigger. But there are so many threads here on polycount targeted to environment.

Is it possible that their could eventually be too many people trying to be an environment modeler?

Do you think jobs are just going to keep getting more and more specialized? An extreme example would be "yeah I am a rock modeler... I specialize in modeling rocks and cliffsides."

And I know it will probably be said... there are too many people trying to get into the the industry.

Competition is getting thick... (not that I worry about not being able to get a job) lol Just wondering what everyone else thinks.

Replies

• Wahlgren
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Wahlgren polycounter lvl 17
    As far as I've noticed there's a shortage of environment artists everywhere. Especially good ones. I don't think there will be to many of us around. Always need more.

About it getting specialized. Nah. My experiences tell me they want people that can do anything and everything. If you're good enough at something you might become the go to "Vehicle guy" or go to "Awesome tree-maker" guy.

As always tho, there's never a correct answer. There's always a studio out there with different work practices, i've just never seen one. At most it's something along the lines oof Environment artist, Vehicle artist, Weapon artist, Prop artist. Not tree, rock, mouse, door-artist.

So eh, wouldn't worry.