Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

WIP: BOTANIST

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
DiegoTeran polycounter lvl 11
here is something i started working on today. im new at this ( i say that a lot cause i dont wanna get yelled at, well to much lol) so please let me kno how im doing. school is out this week, finally done with my 4th quarter :D so yea.

i decided that even if school is out it never hurts to practice, and since i have only taken 1 modeling class so far, this gives me great practice.

comments: i have posted the face of this on facebook and the first comment i got was, "so many loops" is it? i mean, i have no clue how to use zbrush, so im not tAking this into zbrush, will just model it on Max from beginning to end or at least till i learn zbrush in the near future.

the concept: was not made by me, was a file passed on to me, bottom corner says C - taylor fischer, so taylor is the artist for this im assuming.

wip.jpg

im having some trouble with the correct proportions on the face, i did use reference images (closest one i could find that matches the Botanist's face, just seems i cant get the lips to come out fine... or the nose for that matter. here is the close up

wip2.jpg

and here is the face with turbosmooth.

wip3.jpg

i see i need to puff up the top lips maybe? and i kno the side of the nose doesnt fully round on the sides... well let me kno what i need, thanx!!!

Replies

• trancerobot
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    trancerobot polycounter lvl 7
    Is this a game model or intended for subdivision? Deciding now will help you later.

The face loops are technically ok, but the face itself is not. You should focus less on making pretty loops and more on making it look like the character. Basic anatomy shouldn't be ignored either - the eyes should be midway between the top of the head and the tip of the chin... thinking that the eyes are closer to the top is just the result of an illusion probably caused by the hair.